Facts About Algeria - Travel Tips, Safaris

Covering an area of 2,381.741 square kilometers (919,595 square miles), Algeria is the largest country in the whole of Africa since 2011 when south Sudan broke from Sudan that was previously the largest country in Africa. The country is located in northwest Africa on the Mediterranean coast with the Sahara covering more than four-fifths of its territory, where the inhabitants are concentrated in oases surrounded by desert. It is considered the gateway between Africa and Europe. Neighboring countries include Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia, and Western Sahara. Algeria is mostly desert with a few mountains and a narrow coastal plain.

People and culture
Algeria is made up of different people who include the majority Arabs taking 80% of the total population, 20 percent Berber and less than 1 percent are European. The Berbers are divided into four main groups. The largest of these are the Kabyles, who live in the Kabylia Mountains east of Algiers. The Chaouias live in the Aurès Mountains, the M’zabites in the northern Sahara, and the Tuaregs in the desert. Islam is the dominant religion and Arabic together with Berber is the most spoken languages. However in order to ease businesses in the country, French is now a second language taught in Algeria.

Attractions and activities
Main attractions in Algeria include the National Museum of Fine Arts as well as the Bardo Ethnographic and Local Art Museum, The holy town of Beni-Isguen, with its well-guarded gate and auction market, makes for an interesting stop. Ouargla, also known as ‘the golden key to the desert’, is a lovely town featuring a malekite minaret, market square and gorgeous architecture all interesting to the tourists and provide memorable experiences. Travelers can participate in city walks, nature walks and wildlife viewing in the national parks.

National parks and wildlife
There is an extensive net work of national parks that have been created in Algeria in order to protect the great biodiversity. The national parks include Ahagger, Belezma, Beni-Salah, Djurdjura and El-kala national parks among others. The national parks species of wild boar (Sus scrofa) , golden jackal (Canis aureus), gazelle (Gazella spp.), Atlas (Addax nasomaculatus), Scimitar Oryx (Oryx dammah), Barbary Sheep (Ammotragus lervia), fennec (Vulpes zerda), weasel (Mustela nivalis), red fox (Vulpes vulpes), Barbary Macaque (Macaca sylvanus), Algerian hedgehog (Atelerix algirus), crested porcupine (Hystrix cristata), hare (Lepus spp.), jerboa (Jaculus spp.), and Gerbil (Gerbillus spp). All these are interesting to the traveler and provide memorable experience.

How to obtain a tourist visa
It is a must for all non-Algerians to apply for a visa to enter Algeria with an exception of some nationals from Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Seychelles, and Tunisia. For the national from Argentina, Croatia, France, Hungary and Romania, diplomatic passport is the only requirement. After applying, the consulate of Algeria in London will process visa applications made by applicants residing in the UK and the Republic of Ireland only. Others foreign citizens must provide proof of residence in the UK or Ireland. All people travelling to Algeria must apply for the visa regardless of the age.
The visa applicant must answer all the questions and fill out all the sections everything done on the screen, and then printed, dated and signed by the applicant, any application with missing information will be delayed or rejected totally, applicants should therefore be careful and accurate as they fill in the visa application forms and the applicants must bring or send it by post to the Algerian Consulate (visa section).
In conclusion therefore, Algeria is the largest country in Africa and has a lot to offer to traveler’s bo9th natural, cultural, historical and manmade, this provides them with great and memorable experience never to forget.