How to Obtain a Tanzania Visa & Passport

Most visitors entering Tanzania require a visa. Passports must contain one unused visa page. Visitors may obtain a visa on arrival at Dar-es-Salaam or Zanzibar airports, costing between US$50 and US$200 depending on nationality and payable in cash. All visitors also require proof of sufficient funds and should hold documentation for their return or onward journey. Passports should be valid for at least six months from date of entry. Those arriving from an infected country must hold a yellow fever vaccination certificate. It is highly recommended that passports have at least six months validity remaining after your intended date of departure from your travel destination. Immigration officials often apply different rules to those stated by travel agents and official sources.
Note: Passport and visa requirements are liable to change at short notice. Travelers are advised to check their entry requirements with their embassy or consulate.


Visa application forms can be downloaded from; Forms are also
available from Consular office at the High Commission. Use the form provided for all types of visas.

Applications should be submitted in Person at the Consular

Once a visa has been issued it is non-refundable.
Opening Times: 10am – 12.30pm: Visa applications (strictly adhere to the set times)
14.00pm – 15.30pm: Visa Collection
Note: The office is open on weekdays except on UK and Tanzania National holidays
Visa applications can be submitted on behalf of other applicants. Children require visas and fee similar to those of adults. There is no appointment system and the following must be submitted to complete the process.

  • Binoculars
  • A completed visa application form
  • Application
  • 2 recent passport photographs (scanned photos printed on ordinary paper will not be accepted)
  • Visa fee £40.00 in cash/postal order payable to Tanzania High Commission
  • Tourist/Holiday visa: single entry only. Double Entry allows entry into Tanzania for a second time if travelling from [Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda or Burundi only] during the validity of the visa.